LPTMS Postdoc: Postdoctoral Position in Statistical Physics at LPTMS (University Paris-Sud-Orsay) and at LPT-ENS (Ecole Normale Supérieure, Paris).

Applications are invited for a postdoctoral fellowship in statistical physics, disordered systems, random matrices, non-equilibrium quantum or classical physics.

This fellowship is for two years. Starting date is flexible and could be anytime between January 2019 and October 2019. The selected candidate is expected to spend one year at the Laboratoire de Physique Théorique et Modèles Statistiques (LPTMS-Orsay), and one year at the Laboratoire de Physique Théorique (LPTENS).

This fellowship is funded by the Agence Nationale de la Recherche and is associated to a project entitled "Random matrices meet trapped fermions", a collaboration involving S. N. Majumdar, G. Schehr (LPTMS-Orsay), D. S. Dean (LOMA-Bordeaux) and P. Le Doussal (LPTENS), in which the selected candidate will participate. The main subject of interest is the statics and non-equilibrium dynamics of cold fermions in traps for which we aim to develop new theoretical tools and explore connections to other problems such as random matrix theory, growth processes, extreme value statistics, interacting Brownian walkers, integrable and disordered systems. Emphasis is given in comparison between analytical methods, numerical methods, and experiments and the candidate will have the opportunity to develop each of these facets.

The candidate will benefit from the very stimulating research environment of the Physics Department at ENS, and of the LPTMS-Orsay.

Applications including a CV, a list of publications, a description of past research, a statement on future research interests, should be sent to Grégory Schehr by email at the address gregory.schehr@lptms.u-psud.fr. Applicants should also arrange for three letters of recommendation to be sent to the same address. The deadline for the applications is November 30, 2018.

For more information contact either
Grégory Schehr (gregory.schehr@lptms.u-psud.fr.),
Satya N. Majumdar (satya.majumdar@u-psud.fr),
David S. Dean (dean@u-bordeaux.fr),
Pierre Le Doussal (ledou@lpt.ens.fr).